Release Date for Interim Results for the First Half of 2005

21.09.2005

Moscow. – Highland Gold Mining Limited (“Highland Gold”, or the “Company”) will release its 2005 first half interim results before the opening of UK markets on Thursday, 22 September 2005.

Also on Thursday, 22 September 2005, the Company will hold a conference call hosted by Dmitry Korobov, Managing Director and Scott Yelland, Chief Operating Officer to discuss the latest operating and financial results and progress at the Company’s development projects. The conference call will take place at 1:00 pm UK time (8:00 am EST; 4:00 pm Moscow). To participate in the conference call, please dial one of the following numbers:

0800 694 1562 U.K. toll-free number
1866 245 0744 USA toll-free number
+44 (0) 1452 583 043 International dial in number

A replay of the conference will be available after the call’s completion for a period of one week by calling one of the numbers below and quoting Conference ID 9382082#:

0800 953 1533 U.K. toll-free number
1866 247 4222 USA toll-free number
+44 (0) 1452 550 000 International dial in number

Highland Gold is a Russian focused, intermediate gold producer with two operating mines and 3 advanced projects at the feasibility study stage. Highland Gold shares are quoted under the symbol “HGM” on the Alternative Investment Market (AIM) of the London Stock Exchange. Barrick Gold is the Company’s largest shareholder, holding a 20% equity stake.

Enquiries: London:   +44 (0) 207 851 6400
  Moscow:   +7 (095) 777 5529
  E-mail:   info@highlandgold.com
  Dmitry Korobov, Managing Director
  Dimitry Yakushkin, Director of Communications
  Grant Sinitsin, Director of Investor Relations